But I’m Not Dead Yet…

Ok, all Monty Python references aside, I am crawling back to my keyboard today after a tough week. Not only was work insane this week, but in the middle of all the fun (in other words on Tuesday night), my body decided it was time to shut down with a lovely bout of the dreaded summer cold/allergy attack.

It is my opinion that there is nothing worse than a summer cold. Especially in Texas where let’s see…we had an awesome 111 degree day yesterday? That’s not a typo – one-hundred ELEVEN degrees. Yeesh.

So, I basically slept for two days straight, which seems to be the MO with my allergies these days. The system just shuts down and forces me to shut down with it. Somewhere in there I DID actually show up for work on Wednesday and run two conference calls…which I don’t really remember much of but apparently I did well. I guess that’s the cure for anxiety about speaking…be too tired to care what actually comes out of your mouth. In between I had a pillow in my office and the door closed. Thank goodness for great co-workers who totally covered for me.

I started coming out of my funk sometime on Thursday I believe, but had to run around 90-to-nothing to get everything else done for the week. I think I mentioned this before, but I think this is going to be a long summer… ><

On the diet/exercise front – the “good” thing about being sick is that I definitely don’t have the desire to eat anything – good OR bad. Chicken broth was right up my alley this week, not only is it a good source of taste on a low-cal diet, but also soothes a sore throat really well. All of that to say that I have lost more than I had thought I would so far this week, since all I’ve really done is lay on my butt, but I’ll take it and run!

I did get in swimming on Monday night before I got sick, but that’s been all this week. I know not to push it just yet. I went from marveling on Monday on how easy it was to walk up a flight of stairs, to huffing and puffing the next day because it’s hard to take a deep breath without coughing right now.

I made my way to Abilene this weekend to hang out with Brad, who is also battling the same symptoms as me, we’ve been perfect bums – me reading blogs, him working on some school something or other. We may go out shopping later as I think I’m finally going to have to wave the white flag and buy some new bras…60 pounds gone definitely makes the even my smallest sized old bras start to…er, droop I suppose. πŸ˜›

So. As of today I am 3 pounds away from One-derland. At this point it’s almost surreal and impossible to think about. I see the numbers on the scale, and I’m already lighter than I’ve ever been in my adult life, but I guess it’s not hitting me yet. I’m almost avoiding letting it hit me I suppose for fear that I would lose my focus and stop. I don’t think I would let that happen, I’ve come too far, but I guess until this new set of numbers stick around for a while I won’t really dwell on it. That’s kind of how I’ve dealt with my achievements this time around. I’ll wait about two weeks to make sure it’s not a fluke of the scale or my body before I’ll start to really acknowledge my milestones.

That being said, I have yet to decide on a “prize” for going beneath 200 pounds. Of course nothing food related. Right now I’m thinking either something simple like a new bathing suit for swimming (which, even though the foot is healed, I enjoy swimming so much that I definitely plan on keeping that activity around…and besides…111 degrees!!!), or maybe a bike – but I’ve never been a big biker and don’t know if I would use it enough to justify the cost (and 111 degrees!!!), or maybe something totally girly like new clothes or…a new seatbelt bag. I’ve had two of these over the last 3 years and I love them. Seriously, if you’re a woman and you are mean to your purse like I am (as in, I beat the crap out of them and they don’t last long), this is the perfect thing – they are quirky and fun and I’ve had my last one for almost 2 years and it still looks brand new. You cannot hurt these thing I think unless you set them on fire or something. But I’m also a cheap-o and I don’t know if I could justify spending that much on a purse right now…

And of course while writing this post I just found this…which matches my purse and may have a siren song too strong to resist…

Any other suggestions out there for a good One-derland prize? πŸ˜‰

Oh and by the way, thank you so much to the ladies who answered my last blog post about clothing sizes and such – it was so interesting that all the comments I received were from ladies my same height. I’m 5’6″ as well. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, I just wanted to say thanks – I haven’t had time again yet to go out and explore some more “normal” stores – hoping to get a chance sometime this week! πŸ™‚

Anyway, that’ s my update, I hope everyone is having a great weekend!

2 Comments

Filed under Achievement, random, weight loss

2 responses to “But I’m Not Dead Yet…

  1. Do google, too, for sizing. I found some helpful stuff (since I’ve been steadily losing for nearly a year, and sizes change, and bras change, etc). You may find good ways to estimate what you are in Misses/Women’s. Seems I’m XL in Misses..

    I remeasured myself for bras, and I came out with a different measure than the store I recently went to: 38DDDD. EGADS! But I got a 38DDD bra and it is a little not enough room in the cup.. It’s a Wacoal bra, not cheap. I know in other styles, DDD is fine. Others I need E.

    I wish maufacturers would get their act together so an XL is always XL and a 38DDD is the same all across. How confusing!

    Prize idea: A mini-shopping spree. You WILL need new clothes in Onederland. πŸ™‚

    Happy Sunday!

  2. I’m 3 lbs. away, too! And 5’6″ … we’re twins right now! I’m trying to think about a good onederland reward – I want to do something really special and meaningful, but I’m not quite sure what. Especially because once I hit 195, that’s also my 150-lb. loss milestone. Lots to celebrate, but I’m just not sure how! If I get any brilliant ideas, I’ll be sure to pass them along. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

