Spaghetti Squash and a New Challenge!

So I’m really liking my brother’s new girlfriend more and more! Not only does she keep my brother occupied and out of the house on many days, but she also went to culinary school! I don’t know if you remember, but I can’t cook…I can bake, but cooking has always been somewhat of a mystery to me, unless I have very specific instructions.

My brother’s girlfriend also had gastric bypass surgery years ago, and learned to cook many healthy things and has maintained her weight for years.

So, when I brought up a couple of weekends ago that I’d never had spaghetti squash, and had been apprehensive to try and make it on my own, she made it her mission to show me how it is done!

Three simple ingredients: 1 spaghetti squash, sliced mushrooms, and canned diced tomatoes

Instructions are as follows:

Cut a spaghetti squash into quarters, then place shell side up on a greased (pam) cookie sheet and bake for 40 minutes or so at around 425. Once you can put a fork into the inside and feel that it’s loosened, it’s done baking.

Let the squash cool, then just drag a fork along the insides into a saucepan, it comes off easily and looks just like angel hair pasta

Place the saucepan over medium heat, add the can of tomatoes (we used garlic, basil and oregano flavored) with the juice, and a package of sliced mushrooms. Heat until all ingredients are warm and the juice reduces.

Jenn (the GF) said that she adds other stuff all the time, spinach, turkey meat, or whatever she's in the mood for

You can serve the dish with a little cheese sprinkled on top, and have two bowls for only 200 calories total – 100 of which is the cheese!

I hope my brother decides to keep his girlfriend! If not, I may have to chase her… 😉

Also, I found another challenge out there that I want to participate in for spring. I’m still in Allan‘s challenge of course, guns blazing, this is a different type of challenge which involves setting goals (which don’t have to be necessarily weight loss related), and answering questions each week. I’ve been curious about this challenge from seeing the WWW challenge posts over on Mary’s blog, and finally traced the source back to Amy over at Life’s Journey with a Smile. And it seems my timing was great, because she’s starting a new challenge on Monday called the Spring Fever Challenge. This challenge is similar to the WWW challenge, so I need to come up with at least 5 goals, and I’ll be posting my updates here on my progress.

Anywho, I think it’s a cute idea and I’m looking forward to it! I’ll link her banner here in case you’re interested as well – the sign up deadline is Friday.

6 Comments

Filed under fuel, recipes, SFC

6 responses to “Spaghetti Squash and a New Challenge!

  1. I had wondered about spaghetti squash too. That sounds easy. It is exactly the way I fix the other kinds of squash we eat except for those I just scoop out into bowls. Thank you for sharing. Please have her teach you some more so you can share some more. Maintance is coming soon and I want to have a list of recipes I can fall back on or bake when I need them.
    I’m also going to check out the challenge. If nothing else I love seeing what others are up to and lots of time is gets me to thinking too.
    Take care and have a blessed afternoon.

  2. I LOVE spagetti squash. I halve it and microwave it for 10 to 15 min to cut the baking time. Then I bake them cut side down till they’re done.

  3. I *love* spaghetti squash – I like it with a piece of hot turkey sausage, fresh mushrooms, and tomato sauce. I can’t have real pasta these days (don’t know if I could handle it without bingeing) so I am always on the lookout for substitutes!

  4. I’ve never tried spaghetti squash because I don’t like any kind of squash except cucumbers, and even them I’m not too fond of. But something that tastes like spaghetti sauce is intriguing. Thanks for the recipe.

    Thanks, too, for the challenge info. I’ll dare myself to do it.

  5. Thanks for the shout-out! Welcome aboard!

  6. Pingback: Spring Fever Challenge! Weekly Post #1 | I Can Do This!

Leave a Reply

