Lighten Up

3 Miles Down!

So I had two realizations today. I wouldn’t call them epiphanies or anything, it didn’t stop me in my tracks when I realized these things, because really they just made common sense. And as my mother would tell you, I’ve never been big in the common sense department. 😉

Both of these came to me on my last mile this morning. After my brother had left from walking the first 2 miles with me, and I was left alone in my world of music coming through the iPod, and the sun was making fun of me for getting a bit of a late start.

1.) I have always had a problem with my feet when walking/jogging. This has always just been a thing with me. Not only am I cursed with my genetic bunions (thanks Mom!), but I’m pounding them into the ground on these walks with 100+ more pounds than they were built to carry. I observe others on the track – they’re all bouncy and running, or walking past me. My first thought is that “well, they are like 2 pounds, of course they’re bouncy!” Then, I tried something different. I just imagined myself as weighing less. I imagined that there wasn’t as much weight to pound into the pavement through my feet. I tried to lessen the impact that I was making, and it really seemed to help. I’m sure there is some technical runner’s method that describes this, but the best way that I can put it was that I tried to think of the heaviest parts of me, and redistribute them throughout my body so that I wasn’t taking all that pressure and pounding it into my feet. I should up a bit taller and tried to think of myself as “bouncy.” I’ll have to remember to “lighten up” on my next walks.

Don’t get me wrong, my feet are still sore! But it didn’t seem so painful at the time. 🙂

2.) This has to do with that picture posted up there. I’ve seen on Ruthie’s and several other bloggers sites where they post photos after a run. Of course, many times the photos are of runners holding up like a number 7 or 15 or something like that. There were many times over the months, years, that I would tell myself “I’ll post a picture of me and a number – just as soon as that number is significant.” Well. Today I realized…or at least verbalized in my internal dialogue with myself that my 3 is significant. Every day that I choose to get my lazy butt out of bed and go walk, it’s significant. So I’ll take my 3 miles and my 3 miles photo and be proud.

As I also read on Ruthie’s blog – Progress, not Perfection!

I’ll still post a photo when I get up to 7 or 15…but for now I’ll take 3! 😉

And of course it wouldn’t be a blog post from me if I didn’t share my song of the day. This one isn’t particularly inspirational, though I like the lyrics and thinking of what I’m doing as a bit “crazy.” 😉 Thanks again, Alanis:

Lyrics: Crazy

A man decides after seventy years
That what he goes there for, is to unlock the door,
While those around him criticize and sleep…
And through a fractal on a breaking wall,
I see you my friend and touch your face again,
Miracles will happen as we dream

But we’re never gonna survive unless
We get a little crazy
No we’re never gonna survive unless
We are a little…

Crazy yellow people walking through my head.
One of them’s got a gun, shoot the other one.
And yet together they were friends at school
Ohh, get it, get it, get it, no no no!
If I were there when we first took the pill,
Then maybe, then maybe, then maybe, then maybe…
Miracles will happen as we speak.

[Chorus]

Crazy…
No no, we’ll never survive, unless we get a little…bit…

In a sky full of people, only some want to fly.
Isn’t that crazy?
In a world full of people, only some want to fly.
Isn’t that crazy?
Crazy…
In a heaven of people there’s only some want to fly.
Isn’t that crazy? crazy crazy…crazy…

[Chorus]

No no, we’ll never survive unless, we get a little bit…

1 Comment

Filed under 13.1 Training, Achievement

One response to “Lighten Up

  1. Jae

    I LOVE IT! I love the post today…Love the pic…love that you were “lighter” in your training today as you did your THREE! Girl, you are doing it!! So inspirational!

    Its not what you do all the time, its what you do most of the time 🙂
    Gogogogogogogogo GO!

Leave a Reply

